Unforgettable

October 10, 2010

Some words are unforgettable:
I do
I love you
Thank you
I’m sorry

Some moments are unforgettable too:
Weddings
Birthdays
Celebrations

This week was a busy week for my friends and family. Many were celebrating weddings, anniversaries, and birthdays, and I began to reflect on what this week means to me.

Today is the day of the Chicago marathon. My sister-in-law ran the marathon last year. We were so happy for her and planned to celebrate with high-calorie ice cream…although, I think all she wanted to do was bathe and nap (and reasonably so!). While this was a huge accomplishment for my sister-in-law, I am no longer celebrating her achievement the way I was then. Instead, I found myself in her brother’s house as he asked me to marry him a year ago this weekend.

Him: You are the most beautiful woman in the world. I love you and want to spend the rest of my life with you. I can’t imagine a day without you. Please, will you be my wife?
Me: (tears in eyes) Of course! Yes! I will!

Now, if you believed any of that, you have read one too many romance novels. The true story?

The Hardware (as he calls it)

Him: (holding open a ring box)
Silence
Him: Well?
Me: Well what?
Him: Well, what’s your answer?
Me: You didn’t ask me a question.
Him: Oh. Will you marry me?
Me: Yeah.

Now, those of you who know me know that the second story sounds much more realistic. I like our story. It suits us well, but whether your story is the scene of a best-selling romance novel or a practical conversation between two people, the words “will you marry me” are still unforgettable.

Word of the Week: Love

Word to the Wise: “We love because He first loved us.”  I John 4:19

Disclaimer: While I do not, some people like the mushy romance novel stuff. That is a personal choice, one that I will try not to hold against you. 🙂

 

“Grow old along with me!
The best is yet to be…”
-Robert Browning

One Response to “Unforgettable”

  1. Becky Says:

    I can’t believe your engagement anniversary overshadows the anniversary of my marathon experience!


Leave a Reply

