Just Your Friendly Neighborhood Politician

October 17, 2010

As I reached a train station in Chicago recently, I saw a politician at work, looking his best, shaking hands, and talking to potential voters. Know what this means?

It’s political season in Chicago. And Chicago is known for its politics.

Needless to say, political campaigns are overtaking our televisions, our yards, our streets, and our local restaurants. Everyone wants to secure your vote for their cause.

Fair enough, but it is starting to get to me.

It isn’t the overwhelming number of ads that bothers me so much as the words and tone of each ad. Rather than build up the politician being promoted, the ads tend to tear down the opposing politician. To be honest, I don’t care what the other person did or has done as much as I care about what you are going to do. If you want my vote, tell me why you deserve it – not why your competition doesn’t.

I appreciate yard signs much more than television ads. Typically, yard signs only promote a politician without reference to his or her competitor. I’m not sure I need to know all of my neighbors’ political leanings, but hey, at least they aren’t using a yard sign to disparage another human being.

Here is what I don’t understand: what happened to this thing we call libel? And slander? Sure, some of the things that are said may be factual, but many more things seem to be implied. Are some people exempt from this law? Or are they somehow still walking within the boundaries of the law? How does someone get away with defaming someone else?  Or is it defamation at all?

Most importantly, how do we get it to stop?

 

Word of the Week:  Politics

Word to the Wise:  “Do not go about spreading slander among your people.”  Leviticus 19:16

 

Disclaimer: This blog is not about a particular politician or political party. It is only a slight rant at the overall frustrations of political season followed by a brief plea for change.

Leave a Reply

