Give Thanks: Part I

November 7, 2010

November is a month to be thankful. After all, we end the month with the most thankful day of the year: Thanksgiving! How could you not be thankful when all the food you could ever ask for is spread out before you and you are asked to indulge yourself to the point of no return…or to the point you have to unbutton your pants just to be comfortable…and that is before dessert is even served. Of course, some would say family is the more important piece of Thanksgiving, which I happen to agree, but I know how others feel about forcing a large group of people in a room that is typically much too small for the amount of people and ask them to pretend they don’t remember the decades of hurt the others in the room have caused. But I digress. I hope this isn’t what Thanksgiving means to you.

To me, Thanksgiving is a day for food and family, a day to see the good in people, a day to be thankful for all that we have and even some of the things we don’t have. So for the thankful month of November, I want to put into words those things that rarely get shared. The things I am most thankful for. I hope that you will share what you are thankful for as well.

Fall

I am thankful for the fall. I am thankful I get to experience 4 seasons in Chicago, even if I happen to dread one of them. I am thankful there is no snow on the ground yet (only because I will have 3 months of snow starting very, very soon). I love the colors of fall, the feeling of fall, and everything about fall, with the (very large) exception of the allergens, but that is neither here nor there.
I am thankful for the fall.

Phone

I am thankful for my phone. I am thankful that the next time I am stuck in an airport, wondering if or what flight I can be transferred to, I will have Internet on my phone to do a little research. I am thankful that I can use my phone to call my loved ones without long distance charges. I even love that I can call my husband from another room in our house if I am too lazy to get up (ahem).
I am thankful for my phone

Hand Sanitizer

I am thankful for hand sanitizer. I am thankful that hand sanitizer comes in travel sizes that fit in my purse, my laptop bag, my carry-on bag, my commuter bag, my car, and even my pocket if I wanted it to. I am thankful for the larger bottle that sits on my desk and gets used every morning after my public commute. I love that it does not require water and kills lots of germs.
I am thankful for hand sanitizer.

Pictures

I am thankful for pictures. I am thankful that a camera can capture the most beautiful moments of our lives, as well as the silliest, the funnest (that’s a word, ya know…), and the proudest moments. I love that we are never again in that exact same moment but that our memory can take us there at a glimpse of the picture.
I am thankful for pictures. 

Job

I am thankful for my job. I am thankful that in a time when it is difficult for people to find jobs, I found one in Chicago. I am thankful that when facing multiple layoffs, I was spared the devastation. I love that I have a paycheck to pay my mortgages (notice the “s” folks) and that I can challenge myself at work.
I am thankful for my job.

Handwritten Letters

I am thankful for handwritten letters. I am thankful that some people still take the time to write them. I am thankful that they often come on cute stationery. I love that they don’t come every single day because it makes it that much more special when they do arrive.
I am thankful for handwritten letters.

Books

I am thankful for books. I am thankful that I have interesting books to read and that authors can create faster than I can read everything available to me. I love that books can take you away from where you are and into another world of excitement, sadness, fear, or love and that sometimes it can take you through all of these worlds at once.
I am thankful for books.

And these are just a few of the things I am thankful for.

Word of the Week: Thankful

Word to the Wise:  “Give thanks to the Lord, call on his name; make known among the nations what he has done.
Sing to him, sing praise to him; tell of all his wonderful acts.”  2 Chronicles 16:8-9

Disclaimer: If you feel that I should be thankful for you and you are not on this list, please keep in mind that I have a month of thankfulness, and there are more posts to follow. However, if you think I should be thankful for you and you are afraid I may forget to include you, please let me know as I would hate to forget to be thankful for someone who is obviously so dear to me.

Leave a Reply

