Give Thanks: Part II

November 14, 2010

As announced in my previous post, November is my month to be thankful. Last week, I posted the things I was thankful for with pictures to illustrate my thoughts. This week, I have chosen to list them below. I hope that you are also thinking of all the things you are thankful for and that you will share them with me.

  1. I am thankful for my blog, which is a creative outlet for me. We spend so much time doing the things we have to do, the things we are supposed to do, and the things we feel obligated to do. I am thankful that I have time to do a few things, such as my blog, that I want to do.
  2. I am thankful for my health. Although I lean slightly toward the hypochondriac side, I am a healthy person who can work, play, and love, preferably not in that order. So many people in this world do not have the advantage of health. I am thankful that I do.
  3. I am thankful for my car. Many people are solely dependent on public transportation, but I am not one of them. I can take my car and drive myself to the store, to the gym, to church, or anywhere else I please. It is a freedom that not everyone has, yet I do.
  4. I am thankful for my dogs. Bullet and Maggie are the excitement of my life. They remind me that life is supposed to be fun and playful. When I feel down, they are upbeat and loving. They show me what I should be.
  5. I am thankful for my cat. Corona Cat portrays the irony of life. She plays fetch better than any dog I have ever owned. She is obsessed with light switches (much like my almost 2-year old nephew), and she refuses to obey the rules while remaining the best cat in the world. Life is full of surprises, and so is Corona Cat. That is how life should be.
  6. I am thankful for my friends. Moving to Chicago took me away from most of them, and I have realized how precious they are to me. I miss my friends every day and wish I could see them and talk to them and laugh about how life used to be.
  7. I am thankful for my house (yes, I have two, but I am referring to the one I live in). I am thankful that I have the privilege of owning a home and that it has a yard for my dogs, a bed for me and my husband, a semi-kitchen for family meals, and a garage to keep my car warm in the winter. It is a house to remind me that I belong here.

Since I have started this thankful series, I am reminded each and every day of new things I am thankful for. It is hard to narrow it down for each post but fun to be in such a thankful state of mind. Be sure to give thanks this week for the silly things and the important things, and let me know what you are thankful for.

Word of the Week: Thanks
Word to the Wise:  “Enter his gates with thanksgiving and his courts with praise;
give thanks to him and praise his name.
For the Lord is good and his love endures forever;
his faithfulness continues through all generations.”  Psalm 100:4-5

Disclaimer: While I have not mentioned it, I hope that you are thankful for my disclaimers. They are my one attempt at wit in each blog post…the goal being to keep you entertained so that you will continue to read my blog.

Leave a Reply

