Wait, What?

December 12, 2010

A few months ago, the husband and I were having a “discussion,” and as he said something, I repeated him using a funny tone and a unique facial expression.  It is not uncommon for me to use humor to lighten the mood in any situation, but picture us in the heat of a discussion when…

Husband: “Well?”
Me: “Well???”
Brief pause
Husband: “What was that about?”
[Wait for it]
Me: “I was trying to intimidate you.”  
Me: *hits hand to forehead*
Me (husband still in shock): “I mean imitate you.”
<Insert unamused face on husband.>
<Insert loads of laughter from me.>
End “discussion.” (Because who can argue with someone doubled over in laughter?)

But that’s enough about that.

Have you ever misused a word? I think the quote, “I resemble that remark,” (rather than resent) is attributed to The Three Stooges. For those who catch the mistake, it is quite a funny line, but some are left saying, “Wait, what?”

What are some other words that are commonly confused or misused? I like to think about the chest of drawers in my childhood bedroom formally known as Chester. Seriously. I was in college before I realized they were a chest of drawers, not chester drawers. Apparently, I liked the furniture so much I lovingly gave it its own name.

This is a topic that could go on forever, so I leave you to consider your words this week. Choose them wisely.

Word of the Week: Imitate

Word to the Wise: “Be imitators of God, therefore, as dearly loved children and live a life of love, just as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.”  Ephesians 5:1-2

 

Disclaimer: The author of this blog does not believe it is a good idea to intimidate your spouse. However, imitating them is absolutely acceptable. Just be sure to use the correct word when he or she asks what you are doing.

Leave a Reply

