The Lost Voice

December 19, 2010

Ever been at a loss for words? If you are talkative, you probably found that unusual. Other people always seem at a loss for words. Personally, I find myself somewhere in the middle. If you ask my friends and family, they will tell you I can talk incessantly, but I also have a quiet side. If you ask someone I just met, they will probably tell you I am a woman of few words. Why the difference? As I explained to my cousin this week, I am not good at small talk. I want to skip the “getting to know you” conversations and dive right into “what’s your favorite cookie?” conversations. I will figure out your life history over time. I don’t need to hear it the first time we meet.

I am at a loss for words today. After a busy day and little thought about the blog, I came home to stare at my prescripted ideas (perfect for nights like this), hoping to glean something to use tonight. I was inspired by none of them.

So I leave you today with only these questions: what leaves us at a loss for words? How can we find our words again? And who is saved from or harmed by our silence?

Word of the Week: Silence

Word to the Wise: “A man of knowledge uses words with restraint, and a man of understanding is even-tempered. Even a fool is thought wise if he keeps silent, and discerning if he holds his tongue.”  Proverbs 17:27-28

Disclaimer: I promise to be more creative or share something a little more meaningful next week. I apologize for any inconvenience this week’s blog may have caused.

2 Responses to “The Lost Voice”

  1. Jeff Says:

    Loved that you used my word (that the RM hated!)


Leave a Reply

