Success Does Not Define You

February 6, 2011

“Success is going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.”
–  Winston Churchill

Last week, I asked you how You Define Success, but this week, I want to ask you if success defines you. Sometimes, I can get so caught up in being successful that I let that define me. The problem with this is that, as Winston Churchill implied, success and failure go hand in hand. If I let success define me, how much more will I be defined by my failures?

Instead, I know I need to concentrate on the things that truly matter in life: my faith and my family. I could spend time doing the things I love with the people I love rather than chasing success.

This does not mean I do not have goals for my life. I do. I have goals for my marriage, my career, my blog. I have hopes and dreams, and I want to be successful. I just don’t want success to define me…because if it does, I may always feel like a failure.

“Try not to become a man of success, but rather try to become a man of value.” – Albert Einstein

Do you let success define you? Do you think success and failure go hand in hand? How do you balance success and failure?

Word of the Day: Goal
Word to the Wise:  “I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.”  Philippians 3:14

 Disclaimer: This blog is not intended to discourage you from being successful. I encourage you to set goals for yourself and strive to achieve them. If and when you fail, research Alexander Graham Bell, who was told the telephone would never be a success; read about Alexander Fleming, who found his cultures seemingly ruined before discovering penicillin; look up Thomas Edison, who failed to invent the light bulb 1,000 times before he succeeded; consider Babe Ruth, who held the record for striking out before he held the record for homeruns. Read similar stories at http://www.des.emory.edu/mfp/efficacynotgiveup.html.

Leave a Reply

