Word Rummage

February 23, 2011

Date:  February 23, 2011

Word:  Beginning

Merriam-Webster Definition:
1: the point at which something begins: start
2: the first part…

http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/beginning

Annotation:
Today, I experienced an ending, but it is an ending followed by a new beginning. It was sad to say goodbye to co-workers and friends, but I look forward to meeting new people as I advance in my career. This beginning makes me reflect on other new beginnings I have recently experienced: a new marriage, a new city, a new church, a new dress code (because let’s face it, flip-flops and tank tops won’t get me through a Chicago winter!). My last year has been filled with new beginnings.  It can be challenging at times, like say, when the husband disagrees with me (I know, right?!) or when I am forced to parallel park in this new city I call home. It can also be a little sad. I miss getting excited about snow and building ridiculous little snowmen. I miss my family. I miss the friends I left behind for these new beginnings. But I press on. Why? Because I am always taking one step forward, putting one foot in front of the other, getting one step closer to home (Phil 3:13-14).

What new beginnings have you experienced recently? What endings did you have to experience to find a new beginning?

Leave a comment