The Story of You

March 14, 2011

This is the story of one of my readers. Feel free to leave words of encouragement in the reply section. I hope you learn something about yourself by reading the story of someone else.

Her Background

Age: 27
Gender: F emale
State of Birth: AL
Current State: AL
Marital Status: Married
Children: None

Her Story

1. What did you want to be when you grew up at age 5 compared to 15? At age five and beyond (as most can say til this current day), I was very curious. I always asked questions. So many, in fact, that my mother bought me a huge book, half as big as me at the time, of questions and answers. I was very fascinated by this. I really didn’t have thoughts for what I wanted to be. I was so busy caught up in pestering people with questions and trying to be in the spotlight with my loud mouth. But I found out that asking questions is one of the best ways to learn new things. Never stop learning.

At age 15 I really became so interested in many things. I always wanted to be one to study plants, animals and places (along with the vastness of the universe). I also wanted to study cultures – present and others that only dust and fragments of what is left behind can show. But what interested me the most was the planets, stars, galaxies, and all the other things that contribute to our universe. I thought the best way to study this was to become an astronaut. I even wrote a letter that I would later never send (but had every intent on doing so) to NASA explaining why I should be the youngest person ever sent to space. At the time, the oldest man John Glenn had gone, why not the youngest? Later, I learn that astronomy is the best way to view and study stars. Silly me.

2. What did you become? Well, I became “….the dreamers of the dreams.” – Willy Wonka. And nothing more and nothing less.

3. What was your biggest mistake to date? Not staying healthy by diet and exercise. I regret that a lot. Now I see it as more of a challenge to do so. I face judgment by other people who just look at me. Some may even find it aesthetically displeasing to watch me walk across the room. And that’s my fault. Although, there are some other key factors in play that contributed to it.

4. How do you define success? Success – that is the thing that I’ve used to compare myself to other people. Yes, I know, that’s not the way success works and that may be the most unhealthy way to view it. But it is true. I would be lying if I said otherwise. I don’t believe in keeping up with the Joneses. But what I mean is that I dreamt big when I was a kid. I really thought some of those things could happen. All of them. Now that I am 27 and living in a one room apartment with a limited income, it makes me feel sad when I see others that have carried out goals and have been very ambitious with their dreams because deep inside I feel like I am the only one standing between me and my dreams.

5. What is the best advice you have ever been given? I’ve been given plenty of good advice. Like you should send the letter to NASA and don’t stick your head out of the car window. Didn’t say I actually took it. But, with all jokes aside, I was once told what’s poured over the horses back will meet under his belly. Meaning, that with whatever happens it will all work out in the end.

6. What makes you happy? Blowing bubbles, windy days, overcast skies, surprises (except for unexpected company), listening to water flow, watching birds, taking walks through the woods and of course a family that loves me.

7. What ticks you off? Talking to someone who can hear but never listens.

8. What makes you tick? Exploration, whether it’s self exploration, or learning new things that pertain to a certain subject. I find that self exploration comes to me best while I write. Also, trying new things – foods, people, places, anything. Try it, you may like it.

9. What do you want my readers to know about you or about life in general? Don’t let the world bring you down, because not everyone here is that mean and cold.

Do you relate to this reader? If so, tell her how by commenting on this post.

Want to participate in The Story of You? Let me know! I publish posts in this category once a month.

Follow me on Twitter: @hbur3234

Leave a Reply

