Family Traits

March 20, 2011

So, at church this morning, the pastor spoke about family traits. He asked what one word would be used to describe your family, noting that his family is “talkative.” So, needless to say, I spent the rest of the morning trying to decide what word best describes my family. Note to those of you who are curious – this was not technically the point of the sermon, but I digress.

On the way home, I asked the hubs what word best describes us. After throwing out a few nonsense answers, I offered strong-willed. To which he replied, “No, I’m strong-willed. You’re just stubborn.” A few seconds later, I had offered my own opinion about which one of us is stubborn…and it wasn’t me.

So, after some debate (which is what happens when one of you is stubborn), we decided our word is strong-willed. We are strong-willed. Our dogs are definitely strong-willed, and my cat who was recently adopted by her lovely grandparents is the epitome of strong-willed.

While I might have missed the point of this morning’s message, I think I learned something today, and thanks to today’s sermon, we defined our family.

What word best describes your family? Boisterous? Bookish? Loving? Supportive? Smart?

Word of the Week:  Strong-willed

Word to the Wise: “You will keep in perfect peace him whose mind is steadfast because he trusts in you.”  Isaiah 26:3

 Disclaimer: When defining my family, I only included those living in my home in Chicago. No need to be offended, J. After all, I’m sure you fall more into the stubborn category.  🙂

Leave a Reply

