Sprinter, the Season of a Lifetime

May 29, 2011

I decided about a month or two ago that spring did not really exist in Chicago…at least not this year. Instead, I nicknamed the season, Sprinter. One day it is spring, and the next day? It is winter.

Last week, we had 40 degree weather and freezing cold rain! Tomorrow, it is supposed to be 90!

See what I mean?

I am still sleeping in flannel pjs and with an electric blanket.

And it’s almost June!

The worst part? Hearing about my friends down there in the South headed to the beach, the pool, the lake, etc. As much as I love you, I don’t want to hear about your tan, your sun, or your view from your condo!  At least not when it is rainy and cold here!

I long for the nice, warm summer days – the reason Chicagoans fight through the winter. The reason Chicagoans call Chicago home.

Until then, my soft fuzzy blanket and I will remain well acquainted. I can rejoice in that.

Word of the Week:  Rejoice

Word to the Wise:  “This is the day the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.”  Psalm 118:24

Disclaimer: While the weather is cold and I am currently jealous of your warm weather, I know that in a few months, my weather will be perfect and yours will be scorching. This does provide me a little comfort. No offense.

What is the weather like in your area?

Leave a Reply

